Harry Potter Anniversary Week – Day 1

THE HOGWARTS TAG

I know this tag was meant for the anniversary of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, however, this year it’s the 20th anniversary for Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban which was published in the United Kingdom on 8 July 1999, and I definitely think that’s worth celebrating too. Especially because book 3 is one of my favourites.

I stumbled upon this tag while I was stalking casually looking around my friend Rain’s blog @bookdragonism ( as you so often do, right guys… guys?) and even though I’m not a book blogger I am a loyal Harry Potter fan and thought that this tag was ideal for any kind of blog really. So like a thief in the night I stole I immediately summoned my Snowy Owl and hastily scribbled down a note begging asking her if I could borrow this tag, and she said says, so THANK YOU Rain! Now, let us begin:


What house are you in?

I am a proud Ravenclaw, though when I first took the Pottermore Sorting Quiz I was a bit disappointed with the result. I suppose a lot of young witches and wizards wishes they were in Gryffindor only because that’s the house we’ve gotten to know and love through the books. These days, though, it has become almost fashionable to be anything but a Gryffindor. Anywho, I wasn’t sad for long. I am a Ravenclaw and it made sense. Upon taking the Hybrid Test I discovered that this Raven right here is part Puff. GO RAVENPUFF! (Somehow it doesn’t have the same ring to it…)

I know the titles says HOGWARTS but I simply have to include my Ilvermorny house as well: Thunderbird. The house for people who have souls. (I’m pretty sure that’s how you should interpret that).
As you can tell I’m all about the birds.

What is your wand?

Willow wood – Unicorn hair core – 12 ¼” in length – slightly yielding flexibility.

Apparently this means that even though I can feel insecure I hold great magical potential. I am faithful and pure, but prone to melancholy if mistreated. I have the ability to change and adapt but may be hesitant about it at first. All in all, the perfect wand for me.

What is your patronus?

My patronus has officially been a dolphin for many years, though upon recently re-taking the test I got myself a calico cat, which actually makes more sense when you look at the characteristics.

What would your Boggart be?

Many moons later I’m still pondering over this question myself, and I don’t have an answer. Not because I don’t have any fears but because I don’t know which of them is the most active one.

What position would you play in Quidditch?

Oh, I’m a Beater for sure. No question about it. It’s a position where your job is to both attack and protect which is what I love about it. (Plus, if you’re having a crappy day this is the perfect way to blow off some steam).

Would you be a Pure Blood, Half Blood or Muggle Born?

I think I’d like to be Muggle Born because then you get to have perfect knowledge of both worlds, plus an extremely pleasant surprise once you get your Hogwarts letter.

What job would you want to have after graduating Hogwarts?

I wouldn’t mind taking a gap year and explore the world, but then I can easily see myself working in the Ministry of Magic. Either as an Unspeakable, researching something to do with time, or being and Obliviator. They may be busy but at least you’ll always have work, and even though it might be strenuous at times imagine all of the fun work days you’ve got ahead of you. (Take deflating and remodifying Aunt Marge’s memory for instance).

Which of the Deathly Hallows would you choose?

I would choose the Invisibility Cloak any day (though the Elder Wand could come in handy, I’m not going to lie). I will make sure to stay clear of the Resurrection Stone. Much like the Mirror of Erised it scares the bejesus out of me. To quote Dumbledore: It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.

Favourite book?

Deathly Hallows. Always. I like that it’s slower and completely different. They’re out of the school setting, isolated and constantly in danger, though you get a sense of false security due to the pace. The ending is epic and I love how it so neatly ties it all together.

Least favourite book?

It used to be Chamber of Secrets, but after the Book Club I realised that I dislike the Order of the Phoenix more. Not because of Umbridge as a character but because of the sheer size of the book, plus of something inexplicable that I can’t quite put my finger on.

Favourite film?

If we are talking the movie I find myself going for when I want a Harry Potter fix then definitely Deathly Hallows Part I. But if we’re talking about enjoying some beautiful cinematography then Prisoner of Azkaban for sure!

Least favourite film?

Now that would be Chamber of Secrets. I only, reluctantly, watch it when I’m doing a HP marathon.

Favourite character?

Oh, no. Are you mental? I can’t choose one! Wait for day 3 of this challenge where I reveal my 7 favourite characters instead.

Least favourite/most hated character?

Peter Pettigrew. Just writing his name makes me angry. How the hell an illoyal coward like him ever got sorted into Gryffindor is beyond me.    

Favourite teacher at Hogwarts?

Even though I love both Flitwick and McGonagall I think I have to go with everyone’s favourite teacher and say: Remus Lupin. Not only is he bright and gifted but he has his own demons that enables him to understand and be empathetic with others. No matter how hopeless you think you may be he will eventually coax out the greatness within you due to his patience and ability to make you trust him completely.

Least favorite teacher at Hogwarts?

Talking short term: Umbitch Umbridge. Long term would be Snape. If I was a student I would have absolutely hated potions, and Snapey dearest would undoubtedly have found ways to make a difficult subject even more torturous.

Do you have any unpopular opinions about the series?

Not that I’m aware of.

If you could save one character from the finale battle who would you save?

My brain wants me to say either Tonks or Lupin so that poor Edward “Teddy” wasn’t orphaned, but my heart bleeds for Fred, so I have to choose him.

Would you rather take Divination or Care of Magical Creatures as an elective?

I’m not an animal lover, but the mere thought of Divination makes my insides bleed, so Care of Magical Creatures it is.

What pet would you bring with you to Hogwarts?

Oh, Tabby cat. NEXT!

Would you enter your name for the Triwizard Tournament?

Absolutely not! I hate danger and is easily startled, but I would happily support the contestants in any way possible.

Would you rather drink Butterbeer or Pumpkin Juice?

Butterbeer. I might even secretly spice it up with something a bit stronger on cold winter days.

Would you rather have the Marauder’s Map or a Time-Turner?

I’m in love with the Time-Turner but I know that I’d hardly dare use it, so while I’m at Hogwarts I will go with the Marauder’s Map solely for practical purposes. 

What Hogwarts ghost would you like the most?

I’m really afraid of ghosts but I think the Fat Friar would be swell company. I fail to see how anyone could be afraid of him.

Would you join the Frog Choir?

YES! I love to sing (and everything to do with music). I’ve already been in my fair share of choirs and I would love to be in a magical one as well.

Would you rather get a Pygmy Puff or Weasleys’ Wildfire Whiz-bangs?

I don’t like fireworks. A cute Pygmy Puff is more up my alley.

The Hogwarts Express trolley is passing by, what do you get from it?

I would like to try a bit of everything, but I do prefer candy over cake, so…

Would you sneak into the restricted section of the Hogwarts Library?

Honestly, I think wandering around alone at night could be eerie, and as I’ve mentioned before I’m not a brave lass. If I had my Invisibility Cloak and it was really important then maybe, but since we know that the books have a tendency to scream I would only try and locate promising titles and then ty and find a way to get my hands on it legally (so to speak).


Phew, that was a lot of questions! But now you know a lot more about me. Hang tight until tomorrow where you will harvest the fruits of me torturing myself. Why do I do it? No-one knows. I hope to see you there. Cheers!


8

Tag If you love Harry Potter and long to do this tag then go for it. I dare you!

What would your answers be?
Be sure to leave your thoughts and comments down below.

Signature1

12 thoughts on “Harry Potter Anniversary Week – Day 1

  1. This was fantastic to read! I’m a Ravenclaw too;

    “Ravenclaw in the streets, Slytherin in the sheets”

    I’ve wanted a Pygmy Puff since I first read about them. Who wouldn’t want a cute, fluffy creature?

    Like

  2. Oh oh oh (does a little giddy dance)…I love this…
    House: Hufflepuff (strangely okay with this now, would not have been a couple of years ago)
    Wand: Pine wood with a dragon heartstring core, 13″ and rigid flexibility
    Patronus: Nightjar (sounds a lot more badass than it actually looks)
    Boggart: Drowning (not sure how that would manifest though)
    Quidditch: probably wouldn’t play, maybe if it was played on hippogriffs
    Would you be: Half Blood – best of both worlds
    Job after school: Auror or curse breaker for Gringott’s
    Deathly Hallow: Cloak!
    Favourite Book: The Chamber of Secrets
    Least Favourite Book: The Halfblood Prince
    Favourite Movie: The Prisoner of Azkaban
    Least favourite Movie: The Goblet of Fire
    Favourite Character: Prof. McGonnagall?
    Least favourite Character: Percy Weasley (I can identify with anyone in the books even Peter Pettigrew and Umbridge to some extend but Percy raises my bloodpressure)
    Favourite Teacher: Prof. McGonnagall. I get goosebumps every time she raises he Hogwarts defenses.
    Least favourite Teacher: Professor Lockard
    Carackter I’d safe: Fred
    Divination or Care of Magical Creatures: Care of Magical Creatures any day
    Pet: white cat
    Triwazard Tournament: Hell Yes!
    Butterbeer or Pumpkin Juice: PumpkinJuice
    Marauders Map or Time-turner: Marauder’s Map
    Ghost: Peeves and I could probably come to an agreement
    Frog Choir: Hell No!
    Restricted Section: Any Day

    Liked by 1 person

  3. THANKS FOR WRITING THIS, NILY! I remember writing this one and having so much fun with it. I miss our book club days. Gotta reread Harry Potter soon. I miss it so much 😭

    Like

  4. Pingback: I Took the Sorting Hat Quiz – Girl Down a Rabbit Hole Blog

Leave a comment