13 Questions About My Music Habits || Music Habits Tag

At the same time I stumbled upon the Reading Habits Book Tag over on The Wordy Habitat I also found this lovely Music Habits Tag! Why do I love tags so much? Well, as you know I only release a blog post every other Friday so I like to fill the gabs between with smaller blog posts, like book and music tags. They are fun to do, they don’t take a lot of time to write and I find it relaxing. Almost mentally soothing. All exceptionally good reasons to keep on doing them so without further ado let’s get on with it!

Pastel coral

DO YOU DOWNLOAD SONGS OR STREAM ON APPS LIKE SPOTIFY, WINK?

Both. I have playlists on my phone and Spotify on my laptop. I’m not sure why I don’t just use Spotify on my phone except that I prefer not listening to ads while biking, doing dishes etc. Why I don’t mind it while being on my laptop I am not sure. Convenience perhaps? I dont know. Honestly, it’s one of those things that probably makes no sense to anyone other than me.

WHAT’S YOUR CURRENT FAVOURITE SONG?

My current favourite song – and Mr English is going to roll his eyes – is Répondez-moi by Gjon’s Tears. A Eurovision song, I KNOW, but it doesn’t sound like one which is my favourite type of Eurovision song. It’s amazing so just… okay!

LAST SONG YOU LISTENED TO?

Well… Favourite song above, hello! But I can’t list that again even though it IS the last song I listened to so I have to say Ocean Eyes by Billie Eilish. As you can see I simply LOVE staying updated on the music front, haha! I’m so bad at listening to new music. Is it a crime to keep listening to my old favs when they’re epically good? Fingers Crossed I am not the only one.

WHO ARE YOUR ALL-TIME FAVOURITE ARTISTS?

I have a feeling Billie Eilish is going to become one of them but for now I must say Christina Aquilera. Not that she never had a bad album *cough* Lotus *cough* but somehow she just stayed awesome. Also I know it says artists, plural, but the problem is that some of my previous favs are not my favs anymore. Paramore because I didn’t like their last album and they haven’t come out with a new one since, and Linkin Park because after Chester’s death it is just not the same.

For more Christina Aquilera click here.

HAVE YOU BEEN TO ANY CONCERTS?

Yes, but not recently. My first ever real concert was with the 2001 and 2002 winners of a show called Popstars (originally created by Simon Cowell as I recall). So the concert was probably the summer of 2002 or 2003. Something like that.

In 2005 I attended a Linkin Park concert in Copenhagen with 30 Seconds to Mars as warm-up. That was one of the best concerts I have ever been to. No doubt!

In 2007, I believe, it was Justin Timberlake with his Future Sex/Love Sounds tour. His performance and the show in general was really good. Unfortunately it was held at the biggest stadium in Denmark (55.000 people) which also happens to have really bad sound. They should have used the epic concert hall in Jutland but they didn’t. Still, it was an amazing experince.

The last concert I went to was Paramore, and I want to say 2009 or 2010? Something like that. Also in Copenhagen.

DO YOU PLAY ANY INSTRUMENTS?

I do but not well. I play the piano and keyboard. I can hold a simple rhythm on drums and I played the bass at one point. I tried to learn how to play the guitar but stopped because it hurt my fingers. As you can hear I wasn’t that motivated. The guitar is just not my instrument. 

DO YOU PLAY YOUR SONGS ON SHUFFLE OR CHOOSE A PLAYLIST?

Both. I choose a playlist and play it on shuffle.

NAME ONE SONG THAT YOU ALWAYS SKIP WHEN IT COMES UP ON SHUFFLE.

I can’t because if I start skipping a song I remove it from my playlist as I clearly have fallen out of love with it. Keeps the playlist clean, you know?

DO YOU PREFER PLAYING SONGS ON SPEAKER OR LISTENING IN EAR/HEADPHONES?

It depends. If I had my own house speakers would definitely be my favourite. But walls are thin in my building so I usually listen to music on low volume and therefore prefer in-ear headphones. Also, it’s easier to hear smaller nuances that way. Like the awesome violin in Who Knew by Pink.

IS THERE ANY POPULARLY LIKED SONG THAT YOU DON’T LIKE?

Oh only a few thousand. A lot of Ariana Grande – love the voice, not a fan of her songs – Lizzo is another example, uhm, no Justin Bieber or One Direction thanks, nor do I like Jason Derulo or Post Malone. Don’t even get me started on the Country Song category! Oh and BTS – I simply think I’m too old. I have no teen drive for BTS although I am sure they are all talentet and whatnot. Just not for me.

WHERE DO YOU USUALLY FIND NEW MUSIC? EXAMPLE THROUGH SHUFFLE ONLINE, RECOMMENDATIONS.

Haha, funny. As I already established I am TERRIBLE at listening to new music. Perhaps because I then have to sit through 30 songs of crap before finding 1 good song and by then I have given up already. Sometimes I get lucky and stumble upon gold, like when Billie Eilish was a guest on Hot Ones and went to listen to her music which I assumed would be rap. Turns out, it wasn’t.

DO YOU LIKE SONGS BASED ON TUNES/BEATS OR LYRICS?

Tune and beat. Unless it’s Danish – which is 99% of the time isn’t – I actually don’t notice what they are singing about. Only if I get curious and go read the lyrics do I get what I’ve actually been singing around the flat.

NAME ONE SONG THAT YOU THINK EVERYONE SHOULD LISTEN TO.

I don’t like these types of questions because it depends on taste. One person’s gold is another person’s, er, dirt? That’s not a real saying is it. You know what I mean. If I have to list 3 I will say.

  1. Comforting Sounds by Mew
  2. Still Got the Blues by Gary Moore
  3. Come Away With Me by Norah Jones 

Pastel coral

As usual I will now demonstrate a complete lack of outro writing skills and add that if you want to do the tag feel free to snatch it right up, although please remember to credit me if you found it here. That’s just good manners. I hope you have a nice day. Stay safe.

Cheers!


Let’s connect!

22    22    22    22


Pin for later!13 Questions About My Music Habits. Music Habits Tag
Please share your current favourite song(s) down below!

Amsterdam_font3

8 thoughts on “13 Questions About My Music Habits || Music Habits Tag

  1. shortgirlwalking

    I absolutely agree with the ads part, I can’t deal! Upgrading to premium was one of the best decisions I made years ago!!

    I’m also the same with shuffling, love playlist, but get bored if I know what’s coming up next. Removing them from rotation is a good idea, I just end up making a new list instead haha

    Cool post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Stephanie

    It’s always interesting to me to read about others’ music tastes and listening habits. Fun to learn yours. It sounds like you’re in need of another concert sometime soon!

    Like

Leave a comment