Reading Habits || Book Tag

As it always happens with these tags I coincidentally stumbled upon this one from The Wordy Habitat, and due to the current global situation we all find ourselves in I found that it was a good time to do a fun little book tag, so here goes.

Pastel coral

BOOKMARKS OR A RANDOM PIECE OF PAPER

Bookmarks. Do people use random pieces of paper when they read at home? It might just be me but I assume it only applies to people who read elsewhere and since I always read at home… Well. 

STOP READING RANDOMLY OR STOP AFTER A CHAPTER/CERTAIN AMOUNT OF PAGES

My goal is to always stop after finishing a chapter, however I have a habit of reading in bed and if I get too tired I would rather just stop at a random page than force myself to read the rest of the chapter. Because then I would have to re-read that bit the next day due to my brain having been too tired to actually take it in. That just seems silly,

CERTAIN PLACE AT HOME FOR READING?

My couch (or sofa, dear brits) and my bed. Those are the only two places comfortable enough for me to read. Couch if I read during the day and bed if I read just before going to sleep.

EAT OR DRINK WHILE READING?

Absolutely, but it depends what it is. I could never eat dinner and read. But breakfast, lunch and snacks, sure! Not many people know this but that is one of the reasons why I prefer hardbacks: they are more prone to stay open by themselves. With paperbacks I would have to stop reading to eat anything requiring two hands. I guess I wouldn’t dare to go near my books with food and drinks had I ever spilled in the past but that never happened so I’m going to continue.

MUSIC OR TV WHILE READING?

Absolutely not! I need silence. To this day I still can’t fathom HOW some people can read while having sounds around them, music or otherwise. How can you take in what you read? If you’re such an individual please explain in the comment section down below.

ONE BOOK AT A TIME OR SEVERAL?

I can do both. At one point I was reading 4 books at once (you know what I mean). My mom used to ask me if I didn’t mix up the plots but that’s never been a problem. It’s quite easy to separate.

READING AT HOME OR EVERYWHERE?

I only read at home. During summer I will occasionally take a book with me to the beach but other than that they’re staying at home. I probably would read while being a passenger on trains, in cars, aeroplanes etc. but I suffer from motion sickness so reading in any moving object is sadly not an option for me.

READING OUT LOUD OR SILENTLY?

Uhh, I’m not actually sure if I understand the question. I mean, I don’t read out loud as in out loud, but I am reading to myself inside my head. I feel a small anecdote surfacing: when I started Gymnasium at 16 (you can read about the Danish school structure here) we had an introduction in how to read most effectively. I don’t know if that’s a thing anywhere else in the world but whatever. So we were told that if we had a little voice in our heads reading the text to try and quiet that voice and thereby – somehow – be able to take it in more quickly. Well, as it turns out: if I don’t have my inner voice reading to me I have no freaking idea what I just read. My eyes simply glance over the words and nothing enters my brain. So I would argue that I do read out loud… Just, inside my head. I hope that made at least some form of sense.

DO YOU EVER READ AHEAD OR SKIP PAGES?

I do sometimes, yeah. This is quite embarrasing but when I was a teensager, and a huge sucker for romance, I would often look ahead to see when something romantic would happen. I didn’t do it all the time but if there had been 2-3 chapters of nothing then I would be like: when is something happening? Thankfully I don’t do that anymore… Also, I think I will go hide in a bush now.

BREAKING THE SPINE OR KEEPING IT LIKE NEW?

Again I’m not sure what is meant by this question. Breaking the spine? Not on purpose I hope. Obviously the books will have some patina when you read them a thousand times, but breaking the spine sounds like something you’d do on purpose, and I strive to protect my books as much as I can and handle them with love and care.

DO YOU WRITE IN YOUR BOOKS?

When I studied to become a Physiotherapist I wrote in some of my textbooks, yes. Only the ones I didn’t intend to sell after graduation, of course, but I would never write in books in general. I’m not a monster.

Pastel coral
I don’t really have anything to add except that if you want to do the tag, go right ahead. If you’re feeling bored and struggle to find something to do be sure to check out the blog post 50 Things to do When Bored at Home. Stay safe and sound.

Cheers!


Let’s connect!
22222222


Pin for later!Reading Habits Book Tag
Any weird book habits you want to share?

 

Amsterdam_font3

13 thoughts on “Reading Habits || Book Tag

  1. Pingback: Reading Habits || Book Tag - Lela Muse

  2. Pingback: Reading Habits Book Tag – Soph's Book World

  3. Pingback: Reading Habits Book Tag – Read! Bake! Create!

  4. Pingback: Reading Habits Book Tag – Living For Literature

Leave a comment